Don’t let your environment get inside of you!

Friends, I would like to take this opportunity to encourage you and strengthen your faith in the word of God. Wherever you are and whatever you are facing today, never allow your circumstances control your mind and limit your progression. Remember the young David in 1 Samuel 42 and 43, when Goliath confronted him, when he scoffed at him, and when he even cursed him in the name of his gods, and said “and I’ll give your flesh to the birds of the air and the beasts of the field”?

The young David never scared of him. David was not scared by the enemy’s threats, the enemy’s size and his armor. He tells Goliath… “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. He spoke to him boldly and full of courage. Do you think David had more experience and more strength than Goliath? Do you think he took the threat, the size or the situation so easily? Do you think he denied the capacity that goliath could do anything if he threw his armor? Not at all!

David knew that goliath was strong and powerful. He recognized his scary physique and strong muscle. But David saw more than that. He was focused on God’s ability and power. He was stood on God’s promises and the unchanging covenant. He said, “My God never failed me. He never abandoned me while I was in the desert by myself. He never let a tiger or a lion or any animal attack me. And today, I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty. I’ll strike you down and cut off your head.” Can you imagine that?

David was proclaiming and declaring victory over goliath before he even touched him. He was sure and confident that he will cut goliath’s head with his own sword before anything happen. He was sure and confident that he will defeat the giant “Not by might, nor by power, but by My Spirit,” says the Lord Almighty (Zech 4:6). Hallelujah! What is your goliath today? What kind of threat, trial, or danger you are facing today? How do you react when the enemy confronts you? Do you worry, fret, cry, murmur, turn back, and stand confused?

My friend, my God, your God, our God is strong, mighty and powerful than anything or anyone that you are facing today. Never let your “goliath’s” threat, intimidation, scary image etc get inside of you. Remember, as David proclaim victory over his enemy right in front of him, declare and proclaim the power and ability of your God in Jesus name today. This is not denying the reality. This is called Faith. Because faith is the ability to see beyond the visible and be confident on God’s promise even if you don’t see it right away. This is not some kind of “psychological drama” or “spiritual mambo jumbo.” I am talking about standing and establishing firmly and boldly in the word and covenant of God almighty. The Lord says, “I act and none can reverse it!” “I am the LORD, and there is no other; besides Me there is no God.” “I am the Alpha and the Omega–the beginning and the end,” says the Lord God. “I am the one who is, who always was, and who is still to come–the Almighty One.” Declare victory today over your situation. Yes, your situation might be so complicated. Yes, your situations look hopeless. But whatever that is whatever it looks like speak the word of God. You see, the enemy doesn’t want your to say anything but he wants you to talk about your situation over and over and over again. He wants you to see how desperate your situation is, how broken you are, how dark and strong it is. In other words, he wants you to be ignorant. Because he knows the moment you stand on the word of God (hallelujah) the moment you act like a child of God, he knows that is when you become dangerous. Today, he keeps many to be ignorant of their God-given authority and power. But trust me here when I tell you this, the moment you start proclaiming the word of God against him, he starts showing you your situation. He starts saying, “but you are still broke. You can’t pay the bill. You can’t get the job. You are not healed. Etc.” when he comes to you and says, “You are still broke” tell him ‘my God will liberally supply (fill to the full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” And you are too late devil. Tell him “you are blessed, healed, prospered, succeeded, etc.” Show him that you are well established and firmly stand on the word of God and things are start shaking.

Don’t get me wrong here my friends, I am not talking about a “faith –prosperity teaching” here. I am talking about taking stand and established firmly on the word of God when you face adversity. The only thing that keeps you ahead or drag you behind is how and what you see when you see. For most people it is easier to listen to their circumstances than to God. For most people it is easy to see what they see but not above and beyond. Don’t let your present circumstances dictate your progression. Don’t let your soul agree with the situation, but with the word of God instead. I love what Max Lucado says “What do you see when you face your Goliath? Are you looking the big, enormous, gigantic, and overwhelming goliath? Is that all you see? Can you see God’s presence, his power and his ability?” He (Max Lucado) also says, “Focus on the giants you stumble. Focus on God your giants tumble.”

Today, I encourage you to stand firmly and re-established and re-position yourself on the promises and power of God and proclaim victory over any of “goliath” or “a giant” that you are facing. Because God is powerful and stronger than whatever that you see. Never allow the circumstance get into your mind. Let the word of God fully and strongly get into your mind. Don’t be afraid or discouraged by the strength and power of your “giant.” Remember your GOD!

By the way when David went out to face Goliath he stooped down and picked up 5 smooth stones (1 Sam 17:40). Ever wonder why? It turns out Goliath had 4 brothers.

Now you know a lot of things, what are you going to do about your situation?

God bless you all!

Eyob B Kassa

October 20, 2010 10:30 p.m.

Book: Lucado, Max. Facing Your Giants. 2005. Thomas Nelson Inc. 

4 Responses to “Don’t let your environment get inside of you!”

  1. I mistyped this web site and luckily I found it once more. presently am at my college I additional this to favorites in order that I can re-read it later regards

  2. Please, can you Pm me and tell me couple of extra thinks about this, I’m seriously fan of your weblog… gets solved properly asap.

  3. You produced some good points there. I did a search on the topic and discovered most people today will concur with
    your blog.

  4. Wow! what an concept ! What a idea ! Gorgeous .. Wonderful ? I generally don?t publish in Blogs but your blog pressured me to, remarkable get the job done.. gorgeous ?

Leave a comment